The first ever TASS Stars Awards is here! We’re celebrating the achievements of TASS athletes in the past academic year and rewarding the finalists with a ticket to the global sporting event of the summer, the London 2017 IAAF World Championships.

We invited our network to nominate a TASS athlete deserving of special recognition for their success, whether for a performance on the pitch or for their efforts as a student-athlete. There are five categoriesMost CommittedMost InspirationalMost EnterprisingMost Determined and Star of the Year.

Scores of nominations were received across a two week period and have now been whittled down to a shortlist of 17. The winners will be decided by an independent panel of expert judges including Olympic silver medallist Shelley RudmanParalympic gold medallist Danielle Brown and BBC Sport’s Joel Goldman.

The shortlist of finalists (the top 3 from each category*) are invited to join us at the IAAF World Championships on Friday 11 August 2017 for an action packed day of top competition from the world’s biggest names in athletics. On the same day, one winner from each of the five categories will be revealed and presented with a coveted TASS Stars Awards trophy.

The TASS Stars Awards 2017 finalists are:

Most Committed

Antonia Bunyan (Goalball / Leeds University)
David Heath (Powerlifting – Army / University of Manchester)
Sarah Leiter (Goalball / Cambridge University)

Most Inspirational

Kristian Callaghan (Shooting / University of Bath)
Nathan Edge (Disability Football / Nottingham Trent)
Naomi Ogbeta (Athletics / University of Manchester)

Most Enterprising

Issa Batrane (Volleyball / Bournemouth University)
Liam Hall (Goalball / University of Southampton)
Jonny Jones (Canoeing / University of Birmingham)
Rhys Thompson (Judo / University of Bath)

Most Determined

Sarah Collin (Modern Pentathlon / University of Bath)
Calum Johnson (Triathlon / Leeds Beckett)
Lloyd Wallace (Snow sports / University of Bath)

Star of the Year

Cameron Chalmers (Athletics / University of Bath)
Tom Gale (Athletics / University of Bath)
Sarah McDonald (Athletics / University of Birmingham)
Georgia O’Connor (Boxing / University of Durham)

Congratulations to all of the finalists!

*NB. Due to a tie in scoring there are four finalists in the Most Enterprising and Star of the Year categories.

For more information, please see the terms and conditions.