Fifteen TASS athletes to perform on world stage at London 2017


British Athletics has announced a team of 78 athletes to compete at next month’s IAAF World Championships in London from 4-13 August 2017.

There will be a strong TASS presence with fifteen athletes in the team who have been supported by the programme during their careers. 

Race walker Callum Wilkinson, 400m runner Cameron Chalmers and 1500m specialist Sarah Mcdonald are current TASS-supported athletes who will represent on the world stage.

World Junior Champion, Wilkinson, is undoubtedly one to watch, having clocked the second fastest time ever by a Brit in the 5000m Race Walk behind Olympian Tom Bosworth at the Team Trials.

Meanwhile middle-distance runner and Birmingham University medical student, McDonald, won her first national title in the 1,500m at the British Indoor Athletics Championships in February.

The trio will be joined by a dozen TASS alumni including sprinter Dina Asher-Smith, who won Olympic bronze in the 4x100m relay in 2016 and finished 5th in the 2015 200m world championships final.

Asher- Smith returned to action earlier this month after suffering fractured a bone in her right foot in February.

In a move designed to empower athletes, those selected will vote to elect the British Athletics Team Captain at London 2017 with each athlete selected eligible to vote for anyone within the team.

The TASS athletes who will be competing at the IAAF World Championships are as follows:

  • Jake Wightman (1500m) – 2013/14
  • Zak Seddon (300m steeplechase) – 2011/12
  • David King (110m hurdles) – 2013/14 & 2014/15
  • Greg Rutherford (Long Jump) – 2004/05
  • Callum Wilkinson (20km Race Walk) – 2016/17
  • Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (4x100m relay) – 2004/05
  • Cameron Chalmers (4x400m relay) – 2016/17
  • Desiree Henry (100m & 4x100m relay) – 2011/12
  • Shannon Hylton (200m & 4x100m relay) – 2013/14 & 2015/16
  • Dina Asher-Smith (200m & 4x100m relay) – 2012/13
  • Emily Diamond (400m & 4x400m relay) – 2011/12
  • Anyika Onuora (400m & 4x400m relay) – 2004/05
  • Sarah McDonald (1500m) – 2016/17
  • Steph Twell (5000m) – 2005/06
  • Perri Shakes-Drayton (4x400m relay) – 2005/06